Col du Tourmalet

The 2010 Tour de France runs from July 3 to July 25 starting in Rotterdam and concluding at the Champs Élysée in Paris. 22 teams from 12 countries will attempt a gruelling 2,185 miles (3,642 kilometres) that will include:

1 prologue (a short trial to decide who wears yellow on the opening day)

9 flat stages

6 mountain stages with 3 summit finishes

4 medium mountain stages

1 individual time-trial stage (52 kilometres)

2 rest days

The summit finishes include the Col de Tourmalet, a 17.2 kilometre leg-breaker situated in the Midi-Pyrenees, which will be climbed twice this year, and the legendary Col d'Aubisque which is 16.6 kilometres.

2010 Tour de France Teams and Riders to Watch

Three new teams from the UK and US are making their first attempt at the race. Riders to watch in these teams are: Bradley Wiggins, UK and Thomas Lofkvisk, Sweden on the Team Sky; George Hincapie, US and Cadel Evans, Australia on the Team BMC; and Lance Armstrong, US, (7 time winner in the maillot jaune), Levi Leipheimer, US, Team Radio Shack. Riders making their Tour de France debut are: Daniel Lloyd, Cervelo Test Team; Jeremy Hunt, Cervelo Test Team; and Steve Cummings, Team Sky.

National Time Trial Champions:

Tour de France Jersey

Andy Schleck, Team Saxo Bank

Jacob Fuglsang, Team Saxo Bank

Edvald Boasson Hagen, Team Sky

Alexandr Pliuschin, Katusha Team

Tony Martin, Team HTC – Columbia

Nicolas Vogondy, Bbox Bouygues Telecom

Rui Costa, Caisse d'Epargne

Tour de France Tactics

Tour de France Tactics


The peloton (bunch or pack of riders) forms a wedge configuration with one rider leading in the middle of the road. The flanking cyclists ride close to one another (slipstreaming) to save energy and reduce drag. When the lead rider tires, he drops back and a fresh rider takes his place.


The peloton takes on a more defensive formation called an "echelon"( a formation where members are aligned diagonally) to protect riders from the wind. The peloton breaks up into several echelons and occupy the full width of the road. The lead rider will take the force of the cross wind while the other members align their front wheels with the rear wheel of their predecessor thereby shielded from the wind. The lead rider will then move to the end of the line and the next rider in the line will take the lead position taking the brunt of the wind.