FlagArgentina, or officially the Argentine Republic (La Repúblic Argentina), is the second largest country in South America with a population of over 40 million. It is a Spanish-speaking nation in the southern region of South America, bordering Chile to the south and west, and Brazil, Bolivia, Paraguay, and Uruguay to the north. Its capital is Buenos Aires.

Official Language

The official language of Argentina is Spanish. Like many countries in South America, Argentina was once part of the Spanish empire, and gained independence in 1816. This allowed for the Spanish influence, and the dominance of Spanish as the language spoken by the majority of Argentineans.


Argentina is the 31st most populous country in the world, and the 4th most populous Spanish-speaking nation. Argentina has a population of approximately 40,134,425 people.

Argentina has historically attracted a large group of immigrants to fuel economic investment. This has led to a vast number of different ethnic groups to reside in Argentina. About 86.4% of the population is of White European descent, mainly Spanish and Italian. 8% of the population is Mestizo (a mix of European and native ancestry). 4% of the population is Asian (including Arab, South Asian, and East Asian). 1.6% of Argentina's population identify themselves as Amerindian or of native ancestry.

GeographyArgentina Map

Argentina has a total land area of approximately 2,766,892.2 square kilometers (1,068,302.7 square miles). It is the eighth-largest country in regards to land area, and the largest Spanish-speaking country when referring to land area. Argentina can be divided into four regions:
1. Pampas:
2. Patagonia
3. Gran Chaco
4. Andes Mountain Range

Argentina also has a coastline along the Atlantic Ocean of 4,665 kilometers (2,899 miles). It is also home to various rivers.

The highest point in the Western hemisphere and Southern hemisphere is also located in Argentina. This is known as Cerro Aconcagua, and it is 6,692 meters (22,841 feet) above sea level. The lowest point in South America-Laguna del Carbón is also located in Argentina. It is -105 meters (-344 feet) below sea level.

Argentine CongressGovernment

Argentine government structure based on the multiparty system, and Argentina is considered to be a representative democratic republic. The separation of the government branches-executive, legislative, and judicial-is enshrined in the constitution for both the federal and provincial levels.

The President of Argentina is the head of state and head of the government.

Argentina has twenty-three provinces (provincias), and an Autonomous City. Due to the fostering of economic integration and development, all of the Argentine provinces (except for Buenos Aires province) have formed federated regions: Center Region, Patagonic Region, New Cuyo Region, and the Argentine Greater North Region.


The currency used in Argentina is the peso. The peso is divided into 100 centavos.