What are Chakras?
The word Chakra in Sanscrit translates to wheel or turning.

Inside our physical body there is a spiritual body double, this spiritual body houses the Chakras. Chakras are centers of receptivity that act as conduits for the life force energy that is all around us. You can compare the Chakras to the idea of the Force from Star Wars and the Chakras are how we channel and use the Force. Because the Chakras serve this purpose they help to determine your physical, mental and spiritual state of being.

According to ancient writings there are some 88,000 chakras in the human body. All of these Chakras cover pretty much the entire body, however many of them are relatively small and not of major significance. Out of this large number of energy centers seven of them are of special significance. These are labeled the Seven Main Chakras and placed along a central line throughout your body. They run from the base of your tailbone to the top of your head. They are located in the spiritual body that is the duplicate of your physical body and express spiritual energy here on our physical plane.

How can Chakras affect us?
You first need to understand that your chakras are constantly turning and vibrating and that they can be influenced by our actions and our body. In fact, there are a number of factors that can play into how our Chakras function: your body shape, bodily processes, chronic disease, your thoughts and your actions or behavior, all of these factors can cause our Chakras to function better or more poorly.

If one of your Chakras is blocked then energy will not flow as it should and conversely if a Chakra is completely opened up then too much energy might be flowing. Either of these situations can cause an imbalance in your Chakras that will appear and affect you in other aspects of your life.

How can you assess your Chakras?
There are, in fact, ways that you can do a simple assessment of your Chakras. You will only need to use your hands and a pendulum.

Place the pendulum over each Chakra and then note its direction, size of swing and speed. Even though it might sound strange, you do this by asking the Chakra for its direction, size and speed. But, if you do this you will soon see differences between the Chakras and from these variations you will be able to identify those Chakras in your body that are unbalanced and either over or under energized.

How can you heal your Chakras?
As we noted above our Chakras can influence our health, and other apects of our lives so it is definitely in our best interest to keep them healthy and balanced. There are a number of techniques that can be used for healing and adjustment:

  • Reiki
  • Color therapy
  • Yoga
  • Conscious breathing
  • Physical exercises
  • Meditation
  • Guided visualisation
  • Positive thinking
  • Affirmations

No matter what method you choose to pursue, please do your homework and ensure that you are going to a respected and legitimate practitioner. Do not blindly accept the claims made by people about their ability to heal and treat your Chakras. A legitimate practitioner will not be offended if you ask probing questions and in the end you will be more secure and relaxed knowing that you did.

The Seven Main Chakras
According to some Eastern teachings, a Universal Life Force flows through the top of the your head and then continues down the Chakras, nourishing us with seven unique types of energy, each of which is essential to our physical and spiritual well-being and development. This energy also flows upward through the Chakras, in this aspect it communicates individual insight and a sense of universal interconnectedness.

An interesting analogy for the Chakras and our bodies is that of a computer. The Chakras are subroutines that influence our behavior. In this analogy the body is the hardware, our Chakras are the software, and the Self is the user. The challenge is to optimize these programs and cleanse them of extraneous and malicious codes so that we can live the most healthy and happy lives.

In order to be healthy, your being needs to have a balance between the downward flow and upward flow of energy. Any types of blockages may affect the flow of energy.

  1. Muladhara - Base or Root Chakra (ovaries/prostate)
  2. Swadhisthana - the Sacral Chakra (last bone in spinal cord, the coccyx)
  3. Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra (navel area)
  4. Anahata - Heart Chakra (heart area)
  5. Vishuddha - Throat Chakra (throat and neck area)
  6. Ajna - Brow or Third Eye Chakra (pineal gland or third eye)
  7. Sahasrara - Crown Chakra (top of the head; 'soft spot' of a newborn)


The Seven Major Chakras


What can block your Chakra?
Any number of previous emotional situations can affect your Chakras typical causes of imbalance can include: childhood trauma, social and cultural conditioning, skewed belief system, bad habits, physical injuries.

Life is full of challenges and as we deal with these problems and difficulties we develop our own ways of coping. Sometimes, the same strategies that we use to cope with challenge can become blocks to our Chakras and have a negative effect on the flow of life-energy that runs through us. It is valuable to understand and recognize the different blocks that we hold on to and to try to discover their source. This type of discovery can lead to a much deeper understanding of ourselves and the sources of our energy blocks which will in turn help us to heal and balance our body.