Login
Password

Forgot your password?

Charles Shaw Wine Review

By Edited Nov 13, 2013 3 2

Charles Shaw Wine: Cheap but Exceptional

A Bottle of Charles Shaw Wine

Charles Shaw Wine - Perfect for Entertaining

 If your family has ensnared you into hosting the Thanksgiving meal this year, then you need Charles Shaw Wine. Charles Shaw Wine is a guaranteed crowd pleaser, even for all those finicky 'Uncle Harolds' out there … .

So, you have your new grad degree, your new management-track job, and your very own new apartment. Okay, admit it – your apartment isn't so new; more like in need of being newly renovated. But it's yours – that’s what counts.

Now that you have 'your place', Mom and Dad thought it would be nice if you cooked and hosted the traditional family Thanksgiving dinner this year. You, cook? The only knowledge you possess about procuring food are the numbers saved in your speed dial! And, if the situation couldn't be worse, your mom has invited Uncle Harold – the Uncle Harold who's the would-be sommelier and food critic!

Metrokane Wine Rabbit Corkscrew with Houdini Aerating Pourer , Replacement Worm **BONUS** Wine Pourer/stopper
Amazon Price: $79.99 $39.99 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
What every sommelier needs!

You need to transform yourself into a chef, à la the Foot Network, in a microsecond. I cannot offer any tips on stuffing the renowned turkey, but I'm going to share my review of Charles Shaw Wine with you. Charles Shaw Wine will be the quick, simple, easy, and cheap part of your Thanksgiving meal. But let's not forget delicious, because Charles Shaw Wine tastes wonderful.

Charles Shaw Dollars and Other Details

For starters, Charles Shaw Wine is brand exclusive, meaning that it's sold through only one entity. That place is the Trader Joe's grocery stores.

If you do any other online reading about Charles Shaw Wine, or visit your local Trader Joe's, you'll hear people refer to this product as, "Two Buck Chuck." It bears this nickname because of its cheap price. There exist many urban legends as to why Charles Shaw Wine is sold so cheap. Here is what Snopes.com has to say:

"The Charles Shaw label (known in local slang as "Two-Buck Chuck) has likely been the focus of the "cheap wine" rumors because it bears a prestigious Napa label, even though it sells for less than $2 per bottle. The catch is that it's almost certainly made with cheaper grapes from California's Central Valley rather than more desirable grapes from the Napa Valley, but because the label's parent company does own a winery and bottling facility in Napa, they're allowed to put "Napa" on the Charles Shaw label (which only indicates that the wine is "bottled and cellared" in Napa) even if the grapes used in the wine actually come from some other part of California…"[5881]

Because of shipping costs, Charles Shaw Wine is cheapest in California. For this article, I decided to conduct my own 'Charles' price survey. I started by phoning a Trader Joe's in Los Angeles, California, and a bottle of Charles Shaw Wine costs $1.99. Next, I called a Trader Joe's in Des Peres, Missouri; a bottle of Charles Shaw costs $2.99. And finally, I contacted my local Trader Joe's in Virginia, where a bottle of Charles Shaw Wine costs $3.29. You can see that shipping truly impacts price. Although, at either of these three price points, Charles Shaw Wine is an excellent value.

Oenophilia 6-Bottle Bouquet Wine Rack, Black
Amazon Price: $29.00 $24.00 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
A beautiful wine rack to hold all your bottles of Charles Shaw Wine!

For You Budding Sommeliers, Variety Counts

Do you know the difference between Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot? Is the extent of your knowledge of alcoholic drinks limited to your college days of, Bud or Bud Light?

Oldman's Brave New World of Wine: Pleasure, Value, and Adventure Beyond Wine's Usual Suspects
Amazon Price: $19.95 $1.17 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
With this wine guidebook, you'll explore all the culinary and taste adventures that wine has to offer!

No worries. With the low price of Charles Shaw Wine, you can purchase a bottle of each kind and sample for yourself. Trader Joe's makes this possible by selling Charles Shaw Wine by the case, and they let you mix and match whatever types you desire. There is, however, no financial incentive for purchasing in bulk, only the convenience. According to my Virginia store, a case of 'Charles' contains twelve bottles. And for that Thanksgiving meal, or any party or soirée you're hosting, the Internet has a ton of valuable information on pairing food and wines.

Libbey 12.5-Ounce Wine Party Glass, 12-Piece Set
Amazon Price: $69.99 $22.19 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
These Libbey wine glasses are perfect for your next party, and best of all, they're "Made in the USA!"

Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz, and White Zinfandel are all varieties of Charles Shaw Wine available at my local store. Valdiguie, another type, is only available during the Holidays and at Christmas.

Due to allergies, I'm unable to drink Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Shiraz, and Valdiguie red wines. However, my mother has enjoyed each of these four reds in the Charles Shaw Wine lineup. Otherwise, I've sampled each of the others, and they're superb. My favorite Charles Shaw, however, is the White Zinfandel.

In fact, Charles Shaw Wine has beaten other, more expensive, wines in contests. Read these results from Wikipedia below:

"At the 28th Annual International Eastern Wine Competition, Shaw's 2002 Shiraz received the double gold medal, besting the roughly 2,300 other wines in the competition."[5882]

"Shaw's 2005 California chardonnay was judged Best Chardonnay from California at the Commercial Wine Competition of the 2007 California Exposition and State Fair. The chardonnay received 98 points, a double gold, with accolades of 'Best of California' and 'Best of Class.' "[5883]

But don't believe my mother, Wikipedia, or me, alone, go to your local Trader Joe's, and purchase and taste Charles Shaw Wine for yourself.

Trudeau Duo Tone Floral Wine Charms, Set of 12
Amazon Price: $9.99 $4.50 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
Throw a 'Charles Shaw Wine Party', to share this wonderful wine with family and friends, and use these adorable Floral Wine Charms!

Give the Gift of Wine ... Don't Leave Your Recipients Whining For More

It doesn't matter the occasion, selecting unique, fun, practical, and affordable gifts, year in and year out, is exhaustive work. But if you have a family member, a friend, or a coworker, who loves wine, then purchase Charles Shaw Wine, a cheap, nice looking, basket, quality wine accessories, and voilà, you have an awesome gift that's unique, fun, practical, and affordable. These baskets not only fulfill the big holidays, like Christmas and birthday, but they also make exceptional wedding, bridal/groom/couple's shower, housewarming, Mother's/Father's Day, anniversary, etc. presents. To personalize for the individual, and commemorate their special occasion, decorate your Charles Shaw Wine basket with paint, ribbons, bows, etc.

Epic 91-044 Wine Glass Cork Cage
Amazon Price: $57.99 $22.99 Buy Now
(price as of Aug 9, 2013)
Give your wine drinking friend a beautiful and creative way to save her corks!

Please click below to check out my other product review articles.

Furniture Sliders
Nurture Shoes Review
Compost Tumblers Review
Kitchen Compost Containers Review
LCD Picture Frame – The Perfect Gift
Go Healthy With Sabra Hummus: A Product Review
Tortuga Cake Review
Black Coral Jewelry Review
Paisley Farm Four Bean Salad Review
Silhouette Rimless Glasses: A Product Review
Picasa Google Download: Helps You Have Better Photos on InfoBarrel

Savor a glass of Charles Shaw Wine.

Advertisement

Comments

Oct 13, 2010 9:08am
Deborah-Diane
We first heard of "Two Buck Chuck," or Charles Shaw wine about 8 years ago. We have served it often since then, and our guests have always enjoyed it. A wonderful addition to any dinner!
Oct 18, 2010 11:15pm
southerngirl09
I have Charles Shaw wine in my wine rack now. It is a great wine at a great price. Thanks for sharing.
Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Bibliography

  1. "Cheap Swills." Snopes.com. 22/11/2012 <Web >
  2. "Charles Shaw Wine." Wikipedia. 22/11/2012 <Web >
  3. "Charles Shaw Wine." Wikipedia. 22/11/2012 <Web >

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Lifestyle