There are plenty of children's books on the market today and that's a good thing. Learning to love reading at an early age promotes life long literacy.

Along with modern books why not introduce your kids to book series that you or your parents or your grandparents loved?

Not only have they stood the test of time but they provide insight into the lives of previous generations. These books will take your children back into a time before cellphones, computers and ipods. In short, a simpler time.

You can still find many of them in bookstores or order them online through Amazon.

Classic Children's Book Series - Nancy Drew

Nancy Drew Series

The first Nancy Drew novel was published in 1930 by Edward Stratemeyer who founded Stratemeyer Syndicate Books.

The author, Carolyn Keene, was actually a series of writers who were hired to ghostwrite the books.

Nancy Drew is an 18 year old amateur detective who lives with her father, lawyer Carson Drew, and her housekeeper Hannah Gruen.

She never has trouble finding a mystery to solve and she is occasionally assisted by her boyfriend Ned Nickerson.

More than 80 million copies of Nancy Drew books have been sold around the world. She has been the feature character in two television shows and five movies. There is also a series of Nancy Drew video games on the market.

Classic Children's Book Series - Bobbsey Twins

Bobbsey Twins series

This series was also created by Edward Stratemeyer. The first book was published in 1904 and another 71 titles were added until 1979.  Another 30 books were published between through 1987 and 1992.

The books follow the adventures of the Bobbsey Twins, 12 year old Nan and Bert and 6 year old Freddie and Flossie. reoccurring characters include the Bobbsey parents Richard and Mary, Sam and Dinah Johnson, the Bobbsey's handyman and cook, Snoop the cat and Snap the dog.

They are easy to read with simple but effective plots and likeable characters.

The Bobbsey Twins series are targeted to younger readers.

Classic Children's Book Series - Hardy Boys

Hardy Boys Series

Edward Stratemeyer published the First Hardy Boys book in 1927.  As with Nancy Drew, the books were created by a series of ghost writers. The author on the book covers is listed as Franklin W. Dixon.

The books follow the adventures of Frank and Joe Hardy who live with their father, detective Fenton Hardy, their mother Laura and their Aunt Gertrude in the town of Bayport.

Sometimes 18 year old Frank and 17 year old Joe solve mysteries based on their father's cases. In other books, they stumble upon the mysteries. There are still over one million books sold every year.

There have been five Hardy Boys television shows including a cartoon version.

There are Hardy Boys computer games and Hardy Boys merchandise including comic books, jigsaw puzzles, lunch boxes and clothing.

Classic Children's Book Series - Adventure Series

Blyton Adventure Series

The Adventure Series was written by English author Enid Blyton. She only wrote eight books which was disappointing for fans of the series.

The books revolve around

Phillip Mannering

A teen with a remarkable attraction to animals.

Dinah Mannering

Phillip's younger sister who is tough and wise beyond her years.

Jack Trent

An orphan who, along with his sister Lucy-Ann, were adopted by the Mannerings. He has a passion for birds and dreams of becoming an ornithologist.

Lucy-Ann Trent

Jack's little sister and the youngest of the group. She is timid but still able to get out of tough situations.


Jack's parrot who has an uncanny ability to mimic words and sounds. It's a skill that comes in handy in some of the adventures.

The children solve mysteries without any help from adults.

The eight published books are The Island of Adventure, The Castle of Adventure, The Valley of Adventure, The Sea of Adventure, The Mountain of Adventure, The Ship of Adventure, The Circus of Adventure and The River of Adventure.

All eight books were made into television programs.

Classic Children's Book Series - Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables Series

Anne of Green Gables was written by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery. It was first published in 1908. The series is set in Montgomery's home province, Prince Edward Island.

In the first book, brother and sister Marilla and Mathew Cuthbert decide to adopt a son. Instead the orphanage sends them Anne Shirley.

The series follows the adventures and misadventures of Anne through her early school years and into college.

The series includes Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Poplars, Anne of Windy Willows, Anne's House of Dreams, Anne of Ingleside, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside and the Blythes are Quoted.

Anne of Green Gables has sold more than 50 million copies and is translated in 36 languages.

There have been two films, seven television movies and four television shows made around the Anne of Green Gables character.