An Overview of the Dukan Diet

Comparable to Atkins Diet

This Dukan Diet Review will hopefully help those who are looking for information about this diet plan.  There are so many diets out there nowadays, it's hard to tell which ones are legitimate and which ones are not.  I think the key to an effective diet is how effective it can be long term.  Even if it works initially, but you absolutely hate it, there's very little chance that you'll stick to it long term.  The Dukan Diet addresses this as part of the 4 phases that make up the program.

The Dukan Diet was designed by French nutritionist and dietician, Pierre Dukan.  It is based on high protein, low carboyhydate and low fat foods.  The diet is made up of 100 different foods, which you can eat as much of as you want.  There's no counting calories or carbs, and you can eat at any time throughout the day.  It's often compared to the Atkins Diet, because they're both centered around lean protein.

Phase 1 - Attack
Phase 1 of the Dukan Diet is called the Attack Phase.  In this phase, you can eat as much lean protein as you want.  Of the 100 foods offered, you are allowed to eat 72 of them in this phase.  It's supposed to jump start your body into fat burning mode by revving up your metabolism.  According to the diet, you can expect to lose 4 to 6 pounds in the first week.  I now see why it's compared to the Atkins Diet.

Phase 2 - Cruise
Phase 2 of the Dukan Diet is called the Cruise Phase.  In this phase, you continue to eat the protein-rich foods from Phase 1, but you also add 28 specific vegetables.  The goal here is to create a healthy diet that is more sustainable long term.  You're not going to just eat lean protein every single day, people would never stick to that.  

Phase 3 - Consolidation
Phase 3 of the Dukan Diet is called the Consolidation Phase.  In this phase, bread, cheese, fruit and other foods with more starch are added.  However, you can't eat these foods whenever you want, like you can with the protein-rich foods.  You can only eat these foods during 2 meals throughout the week.  They're treated more as a treat, not something that will be included in your everyday diet.  This is designed to prevent any future massive weight gain.  If you completely restrict yourself of these foods, then you're more likely to binge on them when you do eat them.  This phase lets you have some of these foods, so you aren't craving them in the future.

Phase 4 - Stabilization
Phase 4 of the Dukan Diet is called the Stabilization Phase.  In this phase, you can basically eat whatever you want.  However, there are a few rules that you have to follow.  
1)  Designate a protein day once a week.  This follows the Attack Phase of the diet.
2)  Eat Oat Bran every day, at least 3 tablespoons.
3)  Take the stairs whenever possible.

This is the phase that dieters are supposed to follow for the rest of their lives.  They have learned how to eat healthy in the previous phases, so they know what it takes to maintain a healthy diet.