Forgot your password?

Factoidz Review

By Edited Jul 28, 2016 1 13

Factoidz is one of the many internet writing sites that promises to share adsense profits with their writers. When signing up for Factoidz, you are asked to fill out your information and a writing sample. The staff reviews your writing and accepts or denies your application. Simple process. The staff seems genuinely nice and welcoming. After receiving your approval email, you will have access to the site and be able to write your "Factoidz".

I chose to apply to Factoidz because like the old saying goes it is never a good idea to have all of your eggs in one basket. I was hoping my experience would be as good as my Infobarrel experience has been, but like I said, I do not want all of my eggs in one basket.

The Good

I sat down at my computer, signed into Factoidz, made up my penname and began my keyword research for some new articles. I wrote an article rather quickly, added my pictures and submitted my article. The  next day, I was pleasantly surprised to see a few pennies worth of earnings. So I decided this site could definitely be worth my time. Back to my computer, a little more keyword research, wrote an article, added pictures and submitted. The next day, guess -- yes that is right more earnings! I was extremely happy that within a couple of days, make that hours my articles were being found and read. Right then I decided I found another good rev share site. Back to the old computer, same drill, wrote another articles, picture the whole nine, submitted. Signed in the next day, BINGO! a few more pennies.

The Bad

The next day I went back to the computer to add a few more articles that I had written off line and instead of my user name in the upper corner of the screen I saw "Welcome XX". Well, that is a problem because my user name was "Doug", not "XX". Hmmm....maybe just a glitch? I exited the site. I tried to sign back in later that day and the next day, nope "XX". I sent off an email to admin, which I have to say are nothing like the helpful, attentive Admin here at Infobarrel. I received a reply two or three days later stating that "XX" was my user name. I immediately sent an email back saying, no, actually it is not. Over the course of several weeks and numerous emails, I have gotten no satisfaction or real answers why I can no longer access articles, might I also add, articles that began earning almost immediately. My last email went out to them a few days ago requesting they either allow me access to my articles or they delete my articles. Do you hear the crickets? Yeah.. no response.

The Ugly

So now may articles are generating money for Factoidz and only Factoidz, not me. I would not recommend Factoidz as a viable method of earning money from writing. Keep your eggs out of the Factoidz basket.

Read SaraValor's Factoidz review, if you still need another opinion.



Mar 30, 2011 10:14pm
I am too trying not to put all my eggs in one basket. Glad I read this article about factoidz. I do not plan on writing with them.
Mar 31, 2011 10:07am
Good choice. They still haven't responded to me and I doubt they will. As I test new waters, I will post reviews. Let me know if you do the same.
Mar 31, 2011 10:14am
Unfortunately, I cannot help but to agree with the truth of the matter. Here is a link to my own Factoidz website review - http://seekyt.com/website-review-factoidz-the-experience-of-one-freelance-writer/

I guess one of the good things about all this is that at least many of us have been treated the same way concerning this scam.
Mar 31, 2011 10:29am
BTW, I just amplified your article for you, it goes out to Twitter, facebook and my blogger blog, hopefully others will come read and learn from our experiences.
Mar 31, 2011 11:18am
Thanks! Sorry you had to go through the same type of experience. Do you mind if I link your review to this article?
Mar 31, 2011 8:14pm
It is sad and we are not the only freelance writers to fall into this scam. Yes, you may and thank you for linking to my website review. I actually think that it would be great if everyone who is writing these types of reviews about their experiences should be linking them together. Doing so will make it so much easier for anyone who is trying to find out more about the situation find the information they need to make a better or at least and educated decision about joining that site.
Mar 31, 2011 10:14pm
Wow! Thank you for sharing this information. Most freelance writers experiment with other sites, and it would be so disappointing to be treated like that. Imagine the people who stumble upon Factoidz as their first experience in internet writing. They would never trust another site again! Such a shame that there are sites like this out there.
Apr 1, 2011 10:19am
Unfortunately, it is a situation that is still causing a great deal of Emotional Distress and Psychological Distress for many freelance writers to this day.

This condition or clause in the first TOS is what lured in many of the older members.

"Regardless of how little content you add, you could publish nothing; you will continue to receive passive income from the articles you have previously published"

Factoid in deed.
Apr 1, 2011 11:19am
That was my main reason for writing this. I don't want other writers to fall for Factoidz like Sara & I.
Oct 12, 2011 12:50am
I joined Factoidz but I find it very difficult to get published on the site. The site owner expects its members to know SEO and keyword research. It's pretty frustrating having your articles being rejected.

I've stopped writing over there because of this and according to the TOS, if I'm not active after six months, my name would be deleted. I don't care. It's not worth the stress.
Nov 29, 2011 7:25am
I use Factoidz all the time. Although it is very true that communicating with anyone at Factoidz is relatively impossible, I get revenue every single month. Paying your "dues" and writing some quality articles is a necessity in most of these online writing sites.

Factoidz publishes my articles right away because I was "promoted" from Writer to Staff. The articles should be of quality, not that anyones' here is not.

I write very little, and still, every time that my articles are read, I get a penny or two. The more you write, the more you make.

You can also get more money by following their review guidelines. You can write reviews on assigned topics and can get up to 15.00 per article, or you can write an article elsewhere and commit backlinks to assigned Factoidz articles and make up to 15.00 per article that way too. It depends on how much of the guidelines are met.

I have never ever had a problem with Factoidz that I could not live with. Single opinions on a site are valuable, but we all have our personal opinions and the pros and cons of all of them should be heeded.

After all, Factoidz has paid me more for writing what I wanted to write about than any other independent freelance writing site online.

I would ask that one reconsiders and gives it a try before writing it off. After all, it's free. What will it hurt?
Jan 18, 2012 10:35pm
After becoming Staff on Factoidz and being with the site for over three years, I can say that the site has its pros and cons. It is tough to get articles approved there, since your articles have to have some unique information in them. Once you get the knack for it though, it is fast, and you can build earnings quite quickly due to their upfront bonus system.

As for the rumors that the site is a scam, a group of us long-time writers at Factoidz have been concerned about this and we looked into these claims. We have a few threads going and what we've found is that an ex-writer Sara Valor (who we all remember from her time at Factoidz) has been spamming literally dozens of sites trying to convince writers that the site is some sort of Ponzi scheme. You can see her copied-and-pasted rant on many sites just by searching for the exact text of any of her posts - you can see an example here for "I am a Factoidz Victim" - http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1_____enUS370US371&aq=f&ie=UTF-8&q=%22I+am+a+Factoidz+victim.+There+are+hundreds+like+me.%22

The same rant appears word for word across a bunch of writing sites and forums. My question is - why go through all this trouble Sara, when you can just report the site to the BBB or, if it was really that bad, just file some sort of a legal claim? What do you stand to gain by spamming all these sites?

I remember Sara because she was caught in the forums for somehow cheating the site's views system and building up her earnings that way (I don't know how she did it but I remember the incident from the forums). I was a bit offended at that, since after all, she was taking extra from the same pool of money we other writers depended on. Now that she got kicked off and her articles deleted, she is off trying to stain the reputation of the site that all of us long standing writers have been writing for for years. I find her entire ranting and cheating ways to be distasteful, and I hope people see what she's up to. As for me, I'm happy that I came across Factoidz, and will continue writing there for the foreesable future.
Jan 20, 2012 8:01am
I am happy to hear you've had success with Factoidz. I wish I knew why I am not able to access my account. The most I ever made from them was about 18 cents one month, so obviously it's not a matter of scamming their system. I had high hopes for the site because I did make a few cents off the bat and hoped it would continue, but my emails go unanswered as recently as last month.
Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Business & Money