Tim Tebow Is the Heisman Frontrunner for 2009

The ballots for the Heisman are sent out to the voters before the National Championship game. They should wait to send out he ballots until after the national championship game. 5 of the last 6 Heisman award winners lost in their bowl game.

2008 – Sam Bradford lost to Florida
2007 – Tim Tebow lost to Michigan
2006 - Smith lost to Florida
2005 - Bush lost to Texas
2004 - Leinart won vs. Oklahoma
2003 - White lost to LSU

The Heisman voters generally do not look at only single game performances. The Heisman voters are expected to look at the players and how they played for the season as a whole. The problem is a lot of these excellent players either choked, played poorly, or just was not playing to the best of their ability once they reached the national champion ship game.

All football players have highs and lows. Good games and bad. The national championship game is the one game per year where players are ALWAYS expected to play to the top of their abilities.

In 2007 if I was a Heisman voter I would of also voted for Tim Tebow. However If I did not mark my Heisman voting ballot until after the national championship game that year Tim Tebow would not of received my vote.

This year many experts predict that either Tim Tebow or Colt McCoy will be the winner of the Heisman. Many of these experts also predict that it will come down to which player remains undefeated. If Tim Tebow makes the national championship game and plays like we all know he can then Tim Tebow deserves a shot at the Heisman. If Tim Tebow makes the national championship game and plays poorly like he already has a few times this year then Tim Tebow does not deserve to win the Heisman.

If the voting for the Heisman took place today my top three picks in order would be:

Case Keenum

Case Keenum has played super this year. He is consistently thetop performing quarterback overall. So far this year Case Keenum has thrown for 4,599 yards, 36 touchdowns and has a passer rating of 159.15

Case Keenum only a junior and should be back next year to play once again as the quarterback for the Houston Cougars.

Kellen Moore

Kellen Moore is the leader of the Boise State Broncos. Kellen Moore has thrown for 2,791 yards,33 touchdowns and has a passer rating of 168.79.

Kellen Moore is only a sophomore so it will be a lot of fun to track his statistics over the next two college football seasons. If he does not get hurt then Kellen Moore may end up shattering many college football records.

Tim Tebow

Tim Tebow of Florida is currently the overwhelming favorite among the odds makers as the winner of the Heisman trophy this year, although his stock has slipped a little bit the last few weeks. Tim Tebow has already one a Heisman and this year may be yet another one for him.

Tim Tebow is a senior and will be drafted into he NFL. Currently this year Tim Tebow has thrown for 1,945 yards, 14 touchdowns and has a passer rating of 155.42.

What sets Tim Tebow apart is the way he can scramble out of the box and take a no yardage play and turn it into some long yards. Tim Tebow is probably the best rushing quarterback in college football.

Regardless of who eventually wins the Heisman trophy this year the voters need to wait until all of the games are played before casting their ballots. This includes the national championship game.

Photo (Flickr/babasteve)