Beat Nevada Speeding Ticket

The prospects of dealing with a Nevada speeding ticket are not pleasant. There are fines that normally exceed $100. Then there are points placed on the license as well as a conviction placed on the permanent driving record.

Nevada Demerit Points

The Nevada DMV uses a point system called demerits, which function the same way as demerits in some school. There are points assigned depending on the infraction. The most common demerits include:

  • Speeding 1-10mph over the speed limit (1 point)
  • Speeding 11-20mph over the speed limit (2 points)
  • Speeding 21-30mph over the speed limit (3 points)
  • Speeding 31-40mph over the speed limit (4 points)
  • Failure to stop at a traffic signal or stop sign (4 points)
  • Careless driving (6 points)
  • Reckless driving (8 points)

The thing to remember is the 12 in 12 rule. If a driver accumulates 12 points within the previous 12 months, his driver's license is suspended automatically by the Nevada DMV. Serious offenses such as a DUI in Nevada are automatically assessed a driver's license suspension, so they do not have a point value.

Up to three demerit points may be taken off by attending a traffic school in Nevada. That will be offered if the driver pleads guilty and pays the fine. The conviction itself will remain on the driver's permanent Nevada DMV record.

Out of state drivers receiving a Nevada speeding ticket or other Nevada traffic ticket should contact their home state's DMV to find out how many points may be put on their license. Out of state drivers are not subject to Nevada's Demerit Point System. Instead, they are subject to the rules and regulations of their home state's DMV. For example, California traffic penalties apply for those who get tickets in Nevada.

Commercial drivers are often assessed extra points for the same offenses, which may lead to suspension of their commercial driver's license (CDL).

Beating a Nevada Traffic Ticket or Nevada Speeding Ticket

If the traffic violation penalties are too severe, it may be worth trying to beat the ticket. The first thing to do is to show up at the time and place listed on the traffic ticket to plead not guilty. This allows the driver to postpone paying for the traffic ticket if he is eventually found guilty. The court then sets a new time and place for the actual trial which is usually around a month later. Unfortunately, that means drivers need to attend court twice to fight their traffic ticket. This can especially be a problem for someone who lives out-of-state such as in California.

At the actual trial, there may be an plea bargain to convert the violation to a lesser charge such as a parking ticket with costs that are slightly less than the original ticket and zero points.

Many Nevada traffic ticket lawyers will attend court for the driver and attempt to plead the ticket down to a lesser charge. In exchange for the cost of the Nevada traffic ticket attorney and reduced ticket, it may allow a driver to keep his record clean and not have to deal with the hassles of going to court multiple times. Again, this is very helpful for those who live out-of-state such as in California.

Although it can be time consuming to beat a Nevada traffic ticket, it is not an impossible task. If a driver doesn't have time to deal with the ticket due to a day job, it's possible to hire a Nevada traffic lawyer to do all of the work for a low price. In either case, there is a good possibility of minimizing the damage from the traffic ticket.