Forgot your password?

How to Delete or Cancel Your Twitter Account

By Edited Jan 8, 2016 0 0

How To Close Your Twitter Account

As technology and social networking continues to become more and more popular, people have a tendency to open multiple accountsTo help keep in touch with their friends and family. A couple of years ago, social networking was tons of fun and made for great entertainment. However, as e-mails are replacing snail mail and social networks replace face to face conversations, sometimes, it can all be too much. If you find the you are spending more time keeping up with your social networking accounts then living life, you may want to try canceling a few. If you're looking for instructions on how to close your Twitter account, you've come to the right place and relief is not far away. You can close your Twitter account in just a few simple steps.

Twitter is another social networking site that allows you to update people on your list of friends, known as your "followers". Your Twitter followers are able to read your updates and learn, which each update, what you're doing, at every moment of the day. You can easily log in from your computer or your mobile phone, and update your status. You might have finally reached a point where it's just too much and you need to give the addictive status updates a rest. Not to worry, it's a simple process to shut down your Twitter account.

First, go to the Twitter home page, at www.twitter.com and log in to your Twitter account. You will need to have your account information, including your user name and password. Once you have logged into your account successfully, you can proceed to the next step.

On the right side of your home page, you will see your screen name, and two links. One link will be to update your profile, and the other link will be a link to change your Twitter settings. The actual locations of these links may vary slightly, if Twitter has changed their website around since the publishing of this article. However, the instructions should still remain fairly consistent. 

Click on the Settings link (wherever it may be), which will take you to the page that has all of the options you can use to personalize your account, add or change your personal information and make other account adjustments.

The "Account" tab should already be selected. If it isn't, go ahead and click on it so that you are in the Account tab. Scroll down to the middle of the screen, and on the lower left hand side of the page in blue, you will see an option that says "Delete My Account". Click on this link. I still find it interesting that it's such a hassle to be able to find this link, but I realize that the folks at Twitter want to keep you around as much as possible.

A confirmation page will be displayed next, asking if you are sure that you want to delete your Twitter account. Click on the confirmation link to delete your Twitter account. That's it! You are now officially free from Twitter and can now move on to other more exciting social networking websites.



Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Technology