It can be a long road to reaching the point of reinstating a driver's license in Missouri after a DWI. A driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction typically leads to a suspension of driving privileges in Missouri. Missouri law requires someone convicted of a first DWI offense to have their driver's license revoked for 30 days, then suspended for an additional 60 days. A convicted second offense of DWI is even worse since it requires the driver's license to be revoked for 1 year. The driver could also face a $1000 fine and 1 year in jail. Once a driver with a second offense is able to have their license reinstated, they may be required to have an ignition interlock system installed on their car which can detect alcohol. These systems cost approximately $800 per year plus installation.
Driving in Missouri is considered a privilege and not a right. After the period of suspension is over, the driver can file for reinstatement of driving privileges after filing all the requirements for reinstatement with the Department of Revenue. It is up to the driver who lost driving privileges to file for reinstatement, the driver's license will not automatically be returned.
Things You Will Need
Proof of insurance
SATOP completion certificate
Step 1Begin an assessment screening which considers alcohol or substance abuse and how they relate to operating vehicles. A Missouri Driver Risk Inventory II (DRI-II) will need to be completed. A driving record history check will be made through the Department of Revenue. A personal interview will also be scheduled to make the final assessment. From these studies, you will be assigned with a level of Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)placement.
Step 2Complete the SATOP program that you were assigned. The SATOP programs include Offender Education Program (OEP), Adolescent Diversion Education Program (ADEP), Weekend Intervention Program (WIP), Clinical Intervention Program (CIP), Youth Clinical Intervention (YCIP), or Traditional Treatment. The OEP program is usually assigned if you are a first time offender. You will receive a completion form at the end of the training.
Before the end of the suspension period, mail the SATOP completion form, a proof of financial responsibility (insurance or self-insurance), and a $45 fee to:
Driver License Bureau
301West High Street, Room 470, PO Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200
The proof of insurance form is also known as SR-22. The fee can be paid using a Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express. Otherwise you may also pay using a cashier's check, money order, or personal check made payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue.