In the late 1970’s and early 1980’s, the Los Angeles Kings had a line that was one of the most feared by the goalies of the National Hockey League. The ‘Triple Crown Line’ will go down in NHL history as one of the best threesomes to play the game. Unfortunately, the NHL was dominated during that time by the Montreal Canadiens and New York Islanders. The Triple Crown Line made a great team out of the Kings but not great enough to win a Stanley Cup championship.

Test and expand you hockey trivia knowledge of the ‘Triple Crown Line’ with the following four trivia questions.

Q. Which member of the ‘Triple Crown Line’ scored back to back 56 goal seasons for the Los Angeles Kings?

A. Charlie Simmer scored 56 in 1979-80 then repeated the feat in 1980-81. Remarkably, he accomplished this by playing in only 64 games the first season and 65 in the second. Simmer was scoring at would have been a 70 goal pace over an 80 game schedule.

In 1979-80, Simmer shared the goal scoring lead in the NHL with Danny Gare of the Buffalo Sabres and Blaine Stoughton of the Hartford Whalers. If there was a Rocket Richard Trophy back then, Charlie would have got the edge playing fewer games.

Originally drafted into the NHL in 1974 by the California Seals, Charlie played just over 700 games in the league between 1974-75 and 1987-88 with the Seals, Kings, Boston Bruins and Pittsburgh Penguins.

Q. Which member of the ‘Triple Crown Line’ won the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s top point-getter in 1979-80?

A. Marcel Dionne contributed 137 points on 53 goals and 84 assists. Wayne Gretzky also had 137 points in his NHL debut season but Dionne won the Art Ross with two more goals than ‘The Great One’.  The previous season, 1978-79, he missed the mark by four points, finishing four points behind Bryan Trottier of the New York Islanders with 130 points. He also finished second in 1980-81 with 135 points, 29 points behind Wayne Gretzky of the Edmonton Oilers.

Q. Which member of the ‘Triple Crown Line’ had his number 18 retired by the Los Angeles Kings?

A. Dave Taylor, the Los Angeles Kings all-time leader in games played with 1,111, had his number retired by the club. Of the three members of the ‘Triple Crown Line’, Taylor and Marcel Dionne have their numbers retired by the club. Dionne wore number 16. Dave played his entire National Hockey League career with the Kings from 1977-78 to 1993-94

Q. Which of the three members of the ‘Triple Crown Line’ was not awarded the Bill Masterton Trophy during his career?

A. Marcel Dionne won many accolades but not the Masterton. Charlie Simmer won it in 1985-86 as a Boston Bruin and Dave Taylor won it in 1990-91 with the Kings. Taylor was also awarded the King Clancy Memorial Trophy that season for the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy contribution to his community. The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded each NHL season to the player that best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the game.

triple crown line