Hindus worship the Navagrahas or 9 Planets as Gods. Most of the Shiva Temples also have the Navagraha idols for worship. These 9 planets of great significance are the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. In reality, Out of these nine Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu are not planets. However, It is believed that these navagrahas or 9 celestial bodies in the cosmos have an influence on the lives of people and their by needs to be pleased in order to have a good life. According to Hindu Astrology an ill placement of any of these planets in ones horoscope can cause diseases or other negative effects in that person's life.

The 7 days of the week are ruled by the 7 Planetary Gods namely Sunday by Sun, Monday by Moon, Tuesday by Mars, Wednesday by Mercury, Thursday by Jupiter, Friday by Venus and Saturday by Saturn. Rahu and Ketu do not rule any specific day of the week but they have horas everyday during which their mantras can be chanted to get maximum results. The Graha Mantras of the specific Planets can be chanted on the basis of the days on which they are ruling as they carry a special significance on that day. For instance, the Mantras of the Sun can be chanted on Sundays for getting maximum benefits. The Navagraha Stuti Mantra which is chanted in praise to these 9 Planetary Gods and their Meaning is given below.

The Navagraha Stuti Mantra:

Om brahmaa muraari streepurantakaari

Bhaanu Shashi bhoomisuto budhascha

Guruscha Shukrah Shani Rahu Ketavah

Arve graham Shantikara bhavanthu

Meaning of the Navagraha Stuti Mantra:

May Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva along with the 9 Planets Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu bless us with peace.

This Stuti can be chanted on a daily basis 108 times or in multiples on a daily basis using a crystal rosary for counting purpose to remove the ill effects of the nine planets. The other ways of pleasing the 9 planets include wearing navagraha ornaments, worshiping the yantras for the planets, pooja rituals, doing navagraha remedies etc.