Login
Password

Forgot your password?

Ohio marriage license requirements

By Edited Nov 13, 2013 0 0

A Ohio marriage license will cost you about $50 in the state of Ohio. Ohio marriage license laws require specific requirements in order to be legally married in the state of Ohio. Without a Ohio marriage license, you can't be married legally in the state of Ohio. Usually you'll need to apply for a marriage license about a month or so before the wedding ceremony. A marriage license doesn't mean you are legally married. It just means you've been granted permission by the state of Ohio to get married. A Ohio marriage license must be signed by a religious clergy for one to be officially married in the state of Ohio. Once you're officially married, you and your spouse will receive a Ohio marriage certificate as an official marriage document..

There's usually not a waiting period in getting your marriage license. Once you apply, and are accepted, you can receive your Ohio marriage license. How do you apply for an Ohio marriage license? Each county has a marriage license department, or a country clerk. Can you apply for a Ohio marriage license online? No you can't. Both the man and woman getting married need to be present. Go to marriagelicense.com, to figure out where your local country clerk office is located.


Ohio marriage license requirements and Ohio marriage license laws

You'll need a government issued identification. Whether that's a driver's license, passport, or a military identification card. Also a social security number is also needed. You aren't required to be resident in Ohio is order to get married. If neither member is a member, they must apply for a marriage license in the county where they're getting married. If you have been previously married before, you'll need to bring documents to verify so. Those documents include a death certificate of a spouse, or divorce decree. Medical exams and blood tests are not required. Ohio marriage license laws require that you must be 18 years or older to receive a Ohio marriage license. If you're under the age of 18, you'll need a guardian consent.

You might need a birth certificate to prove your age. Cousin marriage and same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Ohio. Proxy marriages and common law marriages are not legal in the state of Ohio. You'll receive your Ohio marriage license typically right away. There might be a 5 day waiting period in certain counties. Once you've received your marriage license, you're eligible to get married. An Ohio marriage license can expire after 60 days. You don't need to apply for a marriage license until about a month before the wedding.

Ohio marriage license records


An Ohio marriage license record will usually consist of the full name of both groom and bride. Other information might be made available as well on marriage records. The city of where each spouse was married, or county, and even place where the ceremony was taken place. The date of birth of the bride and groom, along with full names of each member's parents can be made available on marriage certificates. Who authorized the marriage can sometimes be made available as well. Marriage license records can be made public information.


Advertisement
Advertisement

Comments

Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Lifestyle