Percy Jackson & The Olympians is a pentalogy of adventure books written by Rick Riordan, that comprises The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan's Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian. Interestingly, the series is set in the modern world but, as the title suggests, is also based on Greek mythology. The story begins with a twelve year old boy named Percy Jackson who discovers that he is actually the son of Poseidon, the Ancient Greek god of the sea. Percy is therefore a demi-god; his father is immortal while his mother is one the latter's mortal conquests. In the process, he learns that the Olympians still exist, along with the miriad other figures, creatures and monsters from Greek mythology.

Percy Jackson

In the first book of the series, The Lightning Thief, Percy goes to a special camp for all demi gods, Camp Half Blood, where most of the world's demi gods live. There he learns that his dyslexia allows him to read Ancient Greek and that his attention deficit hyperactivity disorder will help him fight. Camp Half Blood offers a relatively safe environment where the demi gods can train in combat to be able to kill the monsters that roam the world in the guise of human beings. The demi gods also sometimes go off to complete quests; this is eventually what Percy himself does (along with his companions Annabeth Chase, another demigod, daughter of Athena, and Grover Underwood, a satyr) so as to prevent a latent war between the big three gods, Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades, over the theft of Zeus's master lighting bolt.

Percy Jackson and Companions

The overall story of the series consists of Percy's adventures as a demi god and the role he has to play as a son of one of the big three gods (demi god sons and daughters of the big three are rare; Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades all agreed to stop having children with mortals since these offspring are too powerful for the mortal world) in the struggle between the good demi gods and creatures against the evil demi gods and monsters and their leader, the Titan Chronos. To fulfill this role, throughout the stories he slays various mythical monsters (these monsters can regenerate) including the Minotaur and Medusa with his magic sword Anaklusmos (Riptide), and encounters many notable figures from the world of myth, including Atlas and Hades. Percy also uses the power he has over water to heal himself and defeat his adversaries, including one of his friends, who betrays him.

Book 1


Book 2

In the series, Greek mythology is seamlessly integrated with the modern world in an original  way that makes the book a truly fresh read. The mythology is factual enough to give the events a sense of intriguing depth, and the basis in reality adds the relationship to the book that every reader needs. In addition, Rick Riordan's fast-paced, humorous style of writing infuses the storyline of all five of the novels witth an uncommon energy. His characters are all endearing and diverse, and themes he develops are fleshed out enough to fully captivate the reader. Finally, though the target audience for Percy Jackson and the Olympians lies firmly in the 10-15 crowd, the literary worth of the series can easily be seen when viewing the 2010 Percy Jackson film, The Lightning Thief.


Movie Poster
Percy Jackson and the Olympians MrRooibos 2013-06-13 3.5 0 5


For another series review, please see


Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Amazon Price: $2.99 Buy Now
(price as of Jun 5, 2016)