In an event of a car accident, everyone who is inside the vehicle is in danger of suffering a loss or injury. Worse cases may lead to disability or even death. The passengers' first line of defense when it comes to avoiding fatalities in car crashes is the car's safety equipments, most notably, the seat belt.
Some states like California mandated and implemented laws that focus on the readiness of a vehicle in case of a car accident. California car seat law, for instance, include regulations that concentrate on the safety of young passengers â€“ the children.
Here are the details regarding child seats and children inside the car under the California car seat law:
- Children who are younger than six years old or weigh less than 60 pounds are only allowed to seat on federally approved child safety seat. Otherwise, they can seat on a normal car chair with a seat belt. Consider the child's age, weight, and height when choosing a child seat for purchase.
- Children who are under 12 years old are shorter than the average adult, which is why they have to be seated on the back. In case of an accident, the children won't be able to handle the impact of the inflated airbag, which may cause major injuries to their head and chest.
- Kids who are six years old and weigh less than 60 pounds may ride in the front seat under some conditions.
o There are no rear seat, or if the rear seats are side-facing jump seats or rear-facing.
o There is no child passenger restraint installed in the rear seat.
o All of the rear seats are already occupied by kids who are under 12 years old.
o For various medical reasons.
o If the airbag can be switched off (usually found on vehicles without backseats).
Â· In general, children are not allowed to seat in front, especially those who are under a year, weigh less than 20 pounds, and are riding in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system.
Â· Parents or adults must not leave children under six years old inside the vehicle unattended, especially if there is present risky condition, if the vehicle's engine is running, or if the keys are in ignition.
The CA car seat law also requires passengers to wear a seat belt, though some people may be excused for it due to medical reasons.