The Eredivisie is since 1956 the highest professional soccer league in The Netherlands. This league started two years after the start of professional soccer in Holland.

Eighteen teams play in the league and they play each other twice, one home game and one away game, during the season. The winner of the competition is the Dutch national soccer champion, while the last team in the Eredivisie ranking relegates to the Eerste Divisie, which is the one but highest professional soccer league in the country.

Below you will find an overview of the stadiums of the Eredivisie teams, playing in the highest Dutch soccer league during the 2010 – 2011 season.

Kyocera Stadion – ADO Den Haag

The Kyocera Stadium was until June 2010 known as the ADO Den Haag Stadium, but is now named after sponsor Kyocera. It is a multipurpose stadium from 2007 with a capacity of 15,000 seats and it replaces the former well known Zuiderpark Stadium.

Amsterdam ArenA – Ajax

The Amsterdam ArenA was inaugurated in 1996 and it is the home ground of AFC Ajax.

It is a multipurpose stadium with a retractable roof, in which football games, concerts, business conferences and other events are organized. The capacity of the Amsterdam ArenA is 51,600 spectators, making it the second largest stadium in the Netherlands.

It is possible to visit the Amsterdam ArenA for a tour. Around 80,000 interested people annually visit the Ajax home ground in Amsterdam.

The Amsterdam ArenA was used for the European Championship Soccer 2000 in The Netherlands and Belgium and is still the home ground for some matches of the Dutch national team.

AFAS Stadion – AZ

The AFAS Stadium is the home ground for AZ from Alkmaar and is formerly known as the DSB Stadion. This name was changed after the bankruptcy of the DSB Bank, a bank owned by former AZ chairman Dirk Scheringa. It is a fairly new stadium, which was inaugurated in 2006 and has a capacity of 17,000 fans.

Woudestein - Excelsior

Excelsior’s Woudestein is not only the smallest stadium in the Eredivisie, but also one of the smallest home grounds in Dutch professional football. Woudestein has a capacity of just over 3,500 spectators. The stadium is named after the former estate Woudesteyn.

Feijenoord Stadion or De Kuip – Feyenoord

The official name of Feyenoord’s home ground is Stadion Feijenoord, but every soccer fan in the Netherlands knows it as ‘De Kuip’, which was opened in 1937. The architect of this stadium in Rotterdam took his inspiration from Highbury, the former ground of Arsenal FC. The stadium was renovated in 1994, making it a multi-purpose stadium.

Feyenoord Stadion has been several times the host of major football finals, like for example hosting seven times the final for the former European Cup Winners Cup, European Cup 1 (former Champions League), UEFA Cup (former Europa League) and the final for the European Soccer Championship in 2000. The Dutch team also plays most home games at De Kuip.

De Kuip is also a popular venue for concerts, for instance U2, Tina Turner, The Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Michael Jackson, Madonna and Bruce Springsteen performed in this stadium.

De Vijverberg – De Graafschap

De Vijverberg means the Pondhill in Dutch and is the home ground for the fans of De Graafschap in Doetinchem, who call themselves the Superfarmers. De Vijverberg was renovated in 1970 and 1998 and has a capacity of 12,600 seats. The remarkable name of the stadium is derived from a former hotel that was located at the site of home ground. For the construction a large number of ponds had to be muted, which formed a small hill.

Euroborg – FC Groningen

The Euroborg in Groningen is not only used for the home games of FC Groningen, because it also houses a school, supermarket, fitness center, cinema and casino. The stadium was opened in 2006 and has a capacity of 22,400 seats. The nicknames for the Euroborg are ‘The Green Hell’ or ‘The Green Cathedral’, referring to the club colors of FC Groningen, which are white and green.

Abe Lenstra Stadion – sc Heerenveen

The Abe Lenstra Stadion in Heerenveen is the home of Frisian club sc Heerenveen and is named after the legendary Heerenveen-player Abe Lenstra. The stadium was inaugurated in 1994 and has a capacity of 26,000 seats.

Before the kickoff of home games of sc Heerenveen, the Frisian anthem is being played with all the home fans loudly singing along.

Polman Stadion – Heracles Almelo

The Polman Stadion was inaugurated in 1999 and is the home of the Eredivisie club Heracles Almelo. This stadium is one of the grounds in the Eredivisie with a capacity of 8,500 fans. Heracles plays its home games on artificial turf.

Rat Verlegh Stadion - NAC

The Rat Verlegh Stadion with 19,000 seats is the home ground of NAC Breda and is named after club legend Antoon ‘Rat’ Verlegh. The stadium was opened in 1996 and was back then known as the Fujifilm Stadium. The name changed into MyCom Stadium after Fuji as a sponsor was replaced by MyCom. The home ground of the club from Breda got its current name in 2006.

McDos Goffert Stadion – NEC

NEC from Nijmegen plays their home games in the McDos Goffert Stadion. The stadium is originally from 1939, but was renovated in 1999. The spectator capacity of the McDOS Goffert is 12,500 and the nickname is 'The Bloedkuul' (the blood pit).

Philips Stadion – PSV

PSV’s Philips Stadion in Eindhoven is one of the biggest stadiums in the Netherlands with a capacity of 35,000 fans. It is originally from 1913, but has been rebuilt several times over the years. You cannot only see soccer in the Philips Stadium, it is regularly the venue for concerts. In the stadium there is also a restaurant with a Michelin star located.

Parkstad Limburg Stadion – Roda JC Kerkrade

The Parkstad Limburg Stadion was inaugurated in 2000 and the home of Roda JC Kerkrade has a capacity of 19,200 seats. Parkstad Limburg Stadion was named after the region where it was built, Parkstad (Park City). Limburg is the province where Roda JC Kerkrade is located.

De Grolsch Veste – FC Twente

De Grolsch Veste was until 2008 known as the Arke Stadion and is named after the stadium sponsor Grolsch, which is a famous beer brand in The Netherlands. Veste is the Dutch word for fortress. The stadium in Enschede has a capacity of 24,000 seats, all-seated. FC Twente has ambitious plans to eventually expand the Grolsch Veste to a capacity of 44,000 fans.

Galgenwaard Stadion – FC Utrecht

Galgenwaard Stadion in Utrecht is since 1970 the home of professional soccer club FC Utrecht. The stadium, which at the beginning of the century has undergone a major refurbishment, has a capacity of almost 24,500 spectators.

GelreDome – Vitesse

The GelreDome in Arnhem is the stadium of Vitesse, which was built between 1996 and 1998. It is a remarkable stadium with a retractable roof and a convertible pitch, that can be retracted when unused, during concerts or other events held at the Gelredome. Besides football there are concerts, conventions and exhibitions held at the Gelredome. The capacity of the stadium is 25,000 fans for soccer matches and 35,000 for concerts.

Seacon Stadion De Koel – VVV-Venlo

Seacon Stadion De Koel, with a capacity of 7,500, is since 1972 the home ground of soccer club VVV-Venlo. Seacon is the sponsor of the stadium, while the ‘Koel’ Limburg (the province VVV is from) dialect is for ‘the pit’.

Koning Willem II Stadion – Willem II

Willem II plays their home games at the Koning Willem II Stadion in Tilburg. The stadium has a capacity of 15,000 spectators and was inaugurated in 1995. The original name was Willem II Stadion, but in 2009 the stadium was renamed to Koning Willem II Stadion, honoring King William II of the Netherlands.

Other Stadium Articles

If you are interested in soccer stadiums, then please refer to: