Taekwondo Belts

Taekwondo is an extremely popular sport that has been utilized by a variety of different men, women, and children all over the world. It is also an Olympic Sport, during the Summer Olympics.  With the opportunity to indulge in taekwondo lessons individuals are provided with the ability to acquire a variety of different taekwondo ranks, denoted by the color of their belts. The majority of the world are aware of the colors associated with each taekwondo belt but it is rare that they are knowledgeable about what they mean. Below are all of the available ranks and their respective meanings.

1. White

When you first begin your training in taekwondo you will receive your white belt. Unlike the others there is no test required to gather your white taekwondo belt as it is a staple to your Dobok. As a symbol of innocence all newcomers to taekwondo automatically acquire their white belts.  The student is starting with a clean 'white' slate.

2. Yellow

In your transition from white to yellow you will have to participate in 2 tests. The first test that you take will provide you with the opportunity to get a yellow stripe on your white belt which is halfway to a full yellow rank. Once you have passed the second test you will have your yellow belt. The yellow color is a representation of earth.  The student is beginning to understand the basics of taekwondo.

3. Green

Much like the the yellow rank there are also two grading associated with the green rank. With each test that you pass you will be granted your green stripe on your belt and then eventually progress towards your full green rank. In relation to the yellow belt that symbolizes earth, the green belt represents your taekwondo growing from the earth.  The forms and movements are starting to take shape for the student.

4. Blue

As with the previously mentioned belts there are two tests required until you receive your blue rank. Once the first is completed you will receive the stripe and once the second is completed you will receive your full blue rank. The blue symbolizes your skills beginning to grow so high that they are about to reach the sky (blue sky).

5. Red

Red symbolizes danger and it means that the individual has gathered an immense amount of strength, discipline, and skills from their training in taekwondo. You will acquire this between the blue and the black ranks which is the final belt out of the taekwondo belts.  This is the rank where the student has physically grasped all taekwondo moves and taekwondo to them becomes more of a mental excercise.

Taekwondo FormCredit: Allen Stoner6. Black

The final step in your training is to acquire the black rank which is the most world renowned belt that an individual can gather. With your black belt you will have acquired maturity and an extremely powerful amount of skills in taekwondo. The black belt symbolizes the rejection of both fear and darkness.

There are multiple levels of black belt, called Dans.  At black  is really when the student becomes a Martial Artist, up until then they are just learning the moves, at black belt they start practicing them.

This is a very common list of belt colors in taekwondo.  Different schools may vary the colors or add some different taedwondo belt colors to suit their needs, although most, if not all, start with white and end with black.  Most schools will recognize the ranks achieved at another school as long as they practice the same taekwondo forms.

Taekwondo belts

Solid Rank Karate Martial Arts and TaeKwonDo Belts
Amazon Price: Buy Now
(price as of Jan 9, 2014)