Gluten is a type of protein that can found in many grains such as rye, kamut, wheat, barley, and triticale to name a few, this protein can be very hard to digest and can not only disturb your digestive system, but can also irritate your organs. One research program has shown that over 90 million Americans may have been affected by gluten and even more may have gotten various illnesses due to sensitivity to gluten.

Some of the common symptoms of gluten sensitivity are gas, constipation, pain in the abdominals, intense nausea, and flatulence. Gluten sensitivity can also cause pain in the muscles and joints, mood swings, fatigue, and anxiety. In more serious cases, it can inflame parts of your body, and can even be the cause of ulcers.

If you want to find out if you have intolerance to gluten you could take a simple diet test from two weeks to a month. During that time, you should eat food that is high in gluten. For example, you could have cereal or toast for breakfast and for lunch and dinners you could eat pasta. If you're still hungry, cookies and crackers will make good snacks. If you feel any achy muscles, fatigue, concentrations difficulties or stomach problems, then you may very well have sensitivity to gluten. If this is the case, you should try to remove any and all gluten from your diet.

Not all grains contain gluten; there are several grains and other starches that are fine to eat even if you are gluten sensitive. Some examples of different gluten-free starches include potatoes, rice, and corn. Other grains available are arrowroot, lupin, millet, sweet potatoes, yams, and taros. Commercial gluten-free products may also contain nut flours, beans, and soybeans to increase the dietary fibers and protein count.

Gluten can also be taken out of flour, which produces starch. Technically, it is impossible to remove all the gluten in wheat flours, but if a certain amount is taken out, the product can be labeled "gluten-free". When making bread with gluten-free flour, the dough will be quite sticky because gluten helps provide the bread with an elastic feel. Having gluten-free bread may help your bread to last longer as the gluten in the flour is believed to have a part in making the bread stale.

When it comes to fruits and vegetables, most gluten-free diets don't have any restrictions. The same goes for the majority of meats, fishes, dairy products and oils. One exception is sausages, which can in many cases have gluten-fillers, MSG is also another additive that contains gluten and should not be used in foods or soups.

When purchasing foods from the supermarket, be sure to read the labels to see which products may contain wheat based ingredients. Some common accompaniments such as ketchup, barbeque sauce, and soy sauce all contain gluten and should be avoided. It would be wiser to make your own gluten-free sauces at home. Many fast food choices such as pizza and hamburgers will also contain gluten.