The match for the Johan Cruyff Shield (in Dutch: Johan Cruijff Schaal) is traditionally the start of the season in Dutch soccer. A week before the other teams in the Dutch Eredivisie, the professional soccer league in the Netherlands, are starting their season, the champion and cup winner are playing against each other in the stadium of Eredivisie-club Ajax, the Amsterdam ArenA.

If the champion is also winner of the cup the previous season, then the match for the Johan Cruyff Shield is played between the Dutch champion and the number two of the league.

The history of the Johan Cruyff Shield started in 1949, when champion SVV played against Quick Nijmegen. After that it took up until 1991 before the KNVB, the Dutch soccer federation, reinstated this initiative.

The new (sponsored) name for the Dutch Supercup was PTT Telecom Cup and the game originally took place in the Kuip Stadium in Rotterdam, the home ground of Feyenoord.

The first PTT Telecom Cup was won by Feyenoord. This team qualified from 1991 five times in a row for the Johan Cruyff Shield. After winning the first edition, they lost the four other games against Ajax or PSV.

In 1996, the final between the champion and cup holder changed to the present form. The game moved from Rotterdam to the Amsterdam ArenA and the name of the trophy was changed to Johan Cruyff Shield.

FC Utrecht showed in 2004 a unique performance in the final in Amsterdam, by beating Ajax with a 2-4 score.  It was striking that the club from Utrecht scored in the last five minutes of the game up to three times. Until then, the Utrecht-side was the only club outside the traditional ‘top three’ (Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord), which had won the Johan Cruyff Shield. In the meantime, also AZ from Alkmaar and FC Twente from Enschede won the shield.

Winners Dutch Super Cup/Johan Cruyff Shield:

  • SVV - 1949
  • Feyenoord - 1991, 1999
  • PSV - 1992, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2001, 2003, 2008
  • Ajax - 1993, 1994, 1995, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007
  • FC Utrecht - 2004
  • AZ - 2009
  • FC Twente - 2010, 2011

Johan Cruyff

The Dutch Supercup is named after Johan Cruyff, who is a retired Dutch soccer-player, and currently manager of the Catalan national team and member of the board of directors of Ajax.

As a player, he won the title ‘European Soccer Player of the Year’ (Ballon d’Or) three times, in 1971, 1973 and 1974, a record he jointly helds with other European soccer legends Michel Platini and Marco van Basten. He played during his career for Ajax, FC Barcelona, Los Angeles Aztecs, Washington Diplomats, Levante and Feyenoord. He played in total 48 international games for the Dutch national team.

As a coach he was successful as manager of Ajax and FC Barcelona and known for his love for an attractive style, based on free-flowing  soccer and intelligent and incisive individuals.

Other Soccer Articles

If you are interested in soccer, then please refer to my other soccer articles: