Forgot your password?

UEFA Champions League 2010, The Group Stage

By Edited Aug 31, 2016 0 0

The draw for the group stage of the 2010 UEFA Champions League took place on Thursday 26 2010 in Monaco.

Thirty-two clubs from eighteen different soccer associations across Europe have been drawn into eight groups of four team. England are the best represented with four teams: Manchester United, Chelsea FC, Arsenal FC and Tottenham Hotspur.

The games in this in this group stage will be played on 14/15 September, 28/29 September, 19/20 October, 2/3 November, 23/24 November and the last round takes place on 7 and 8 December 2010.

The group stage of the 2010 edition of the UEFA Champions League has 20 teams who were not involved at the same stage last year. Furthermore, there are six teams competing in the group stage who didn't compete in the Champions League before, giving the competition a fresher look.

UEFA Champions League
Sixteen teams, the two best teams in each group, will advance to the knockout stage of UEFA Champions League. The teams who rank third in their group will move into the second round of the UEFA Europa League. European soccer ends after the group stage for every team that finishes on the last position in their group.

After the group stage, th Champions League continues with knock out rounds until the final. The UEFA Europa League 2010 final is being played in the Wembley Stadium in London, England on 28 May 2011.

The Groups of the 2010 UEFA Champions League are:

Group A Group B
  • Internazionale (Italy)
  • Werder Bremen (Germany)
  • Tottenham Hotspur (England)
  • FC Twente (Netherlands)
  • Olympique Lyonnais (France)
  • SL Benfica (Portugal)
  • FC Schalke 04 (Germany)
  • Hapoel Tel Aviv FC (Israel)
Group C Group D
  • Manchester United FC (England)
  • Valencia CF (Spain)
  • Glasgow Rangers FC (Scotland)
  • Bursaspor (Turkey)
  • FC Barcelona (Spain)
  • Panathinaikos FC (Greece)
  • FC Kobenhavn (Denmark)
  • FC Rubin Kazan (Russia)
Group E Group F
  • FC Bayern Munchen (Germany)
  • AS Roma (Italy)
  • FC Basel 1893 (Switzerland)
  • CFR 1907 Cluj (Romania)
  • Chelsea FC (England)
  • Olympique de Marseille (France)
  • FC Spartak Moskva (Russia)
  • MSK Zilina (Slovakia)
Group G Group H
  • AC Milan (Italy)
  • Real Madrid CF (Spain)
  • AFC Ajax (Netherlands)
  • AJ Auxerre (France)
  • Arsenal FC (England)
  • FC Shaktar Donetsk (Ukraine)
  • SC Braga (Portugal)
  • FK Partizan (Serbia)

The UEFA Champions League 2009/2010 champions are Internazionale from Italy, who beat German Bayern Munchen in the final. The German champions are this year competing in group E, while Internazionale has to play Werder Bremen, Tottenham Hotspur and FC Twente in group A.



Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Sports