Flag of the USALocation
The United States of America is a country situated in the North American continent. It shares land borders with Canada and Mexico. It borders the Atlantic Ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the West and the Gulf of Mexico to the South.

The origin of the United States of America lies in thirteen former North American colonies of the British Empire. The Kingdom of Great Britain recognized the independence of the United States on September 3, 1783. The Constitution of the United States dates to June 21, 1788.

Following World War Two, the United States of America fought a cold war with the only other world superpower: the Soviet Union. Following the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the United States of America entered the 21st century as the only remaining world superpower, though countries such as China may eventually challenge that status.

Through purchase or conquest, the United States of America went on to acquire land from France, Spain, Russia, Native American tribes and other countries. Today it is a federal constitutional republic composed of fifty states and a federal district with territories across the planet.

The government of the United States of America has three branches: an executive, legislative and judicial branch. The legislative branch is composed of two bodies with different duties: the House of Representatives and the Senate. Each branch of the federal government in the United States of America has a unique role and is required to check the power of each other branch.

There are two major political parties in the United States of America: the Republican party and the Democratic party.

The headquarters of the United Nations lies in international territory in New York City.

Climate and Geography
The climate in the United States of America varies significantly. There are tropical, temperate and alpine regions. It has several large mountain ranges including the Rockies and the Appalachian mountains. The United States of America is also home to several large rivers such as the Mississippi river, the Colorado river and the Arkansas river. The country also has several natural wonders such as the Grand Canyon, the Grand Teton, Yosemite, the volcanoes of Hawaii, Glacier Bay in Alaska and Niagara Falls.

The capital of the United States of America is Washington, D.C. Its largest city is New York City. Both Washington, D.C. and New York city are located on the east coast of the country.

The majority of the population resides along the east and west coasts where there are several large urban areas. The population is diverse and includes people from all around the world.

Culture, Language and Religion
There is no official language in the country, but English is the de facto language. Spanish is the second most common language.

The United States of America is a secular country that promotes freedom of religion. The most common religion is Protestant Christianity, though Roman Catholicism is quite common and Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism and other religions are also practiced by its citizens.

Citizens of the United States of America have made great contributions to literature, art, music, sports and culture.

Major literary figures include: Nathaniel Hawthorne, Mark Twain, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Frost, Henry David Thoreau and many others. Major musicians include: Elvis Presley, Louis Armstrong, Bob Dylan and more.

Popular sports in the United States of America include: baseball, football (American), basketball, hockey and more.

The United States of America has been heavily influenced by immigrants from across the world. As such, its cuisine is as diverse as the world itself. Foods commonly associated with the country include fast food, pizza, hot dogs and hamburgers.