These writing contests have a submission deadline of June and July 2015. If you have short stories and/or novels, consider submitting them to writing competitions that don't require an entry fee. It can be difficult to know whether writing contests are legitimate, but many contests won't require you to pay money after winning.


ABA Journal/Ross Writing Contest for Short Fiction

This writing contest is hosted by The American Bar Association Journal, which has opened its doors to short fiction in the legal genre. In this case, short fiction means that the story you submit must be less than 5,000 words in total. The story has to highlight lawyers or the role of the law in modern society. The winner of the contest will receive a prize of $3,000. Entries must be submitted using the online submission form at ABA Journal.


The contestants must be U. S. citizens or legal residents of the U. S.

The deadline for submission is June 30, 2015 at 5 p.m. CDT.

Each author can only submit one entry into the contest.

Entries must be unpublished or published after January 1, 2104.


Barnes and Noble's Discover Great New Writers

The B & N writing contest is for debuting authors. The writer should have fewer than three published books. Unfortunately, authors cannot nominate themselves for the award, but that doesn't mean that the author/writer couldn't have another nominate them. The books must have been submitted at least three months in advance of the contest. There are various submission deadlines. Approximately 60 books are chosen for the Discover Award, and the books are displayed in bookstores as well as being promoted online by Barnes and Noble. There's also a cash prize involved. 


June 18, 2015 for late Fall

September 10, 2015 for Spring 2016

October 8, 2015 for Summer 2016

Tony Hillerman Prize

The Annual Tony Hillerman Prize is awarded to a mystery writer who has never published a mystery previously. This fiction writing contest entry must feature the Southwest prominently in its story. It must focus on murder or a serious crime and the solution. The prize for the winner is $10,000 as well as a publication contract with St. Martin's Press. 


A double-spaced, neatly typed manuscript must be postmarked no later than June 1, 2015.

The manuscript must have page numbers.

All entrants are responsible for keeping a copy of their manuscript.

The manuscript should include a cover sheet with the contestant's name, address, phone number, email address and writing credentials if applicable.

Eleanor Taylor Bland Crime Fiction Writers of Color Award

Eleanor Taylor published her first mystery featuring an African American female detective in 1992. Sisters in Crime was founded to promote female writers of crime novels and stories. The award is a one-time award of $1,500 to an emerging writer of color.


An unpublished work that could be a short story or partial story of 2,500 to 10,000 words.

A resume or cover letter with a biographical statement as well as a brief declaration of how the money will be spent.

Deadline for submission is July 4, 2015