Forgot your password?

Watch Out for the Latest Facebook Scams

By Edited Apr 17, 2016 0 2

It is a crying shame that you can't do anything lately without worrying about the latest scam. Well your favorite social networking site Facebook has had their share of them lately. Whenever a site promises anything that seems to good to be true, it usually isn't. Some scams however are more deceiving and appear to be just another feature of this social networking giant.

If you have seen a post with a link lately about an opinion survey that promises a giveaway, beware! Post with a links promising a new iPhone4 or iPad3G has been going around the net lately. The post directs you to a site that states they will provide you with these product for testing. They advertise that in return for your opinion, the device is your to keep. This is just a ploy to get your profile information and to go viral, so stay clear of such links.

Another widely popular, but equally annoying are phishing scams. This happens when someone hacks your account and sends links to all of your friends. They will say things like "Check out this picture I saw of you" and it will lead you to a fake Facebook login page. To avoid this always check the browser's address bar to make sure that your are at the correct site. This happened to my stepdaughter once and she had to delete her account to get it to stop. I was also effected by this, but it was on the popular MySpace website. Some hacker used my profile to get my friends user information by sending them an email stating my friend Emily liked them. I don't have a friend named Emily. It was so embarrassing. After a letter of apology and a password change, the problem was solved.

Here is the latest and greatest scam to go viral. The "dislike button" is a scam. Facebook doesn't have a dislike app. This scam sends you to what appears to be an official site, but it is just another rogue Facebook application that is trying to access your user information. It will secretly update your status spamming all of your friends about the same app. It will ask you to complete an online survey and charge your phone after you leave your number on it. It then sends you to the Firefox add-on site for FaceMod which is an actual app.

Do Not Ever put your cell phone number on any pop-ups on the net. Check your apps on Facebook to make sure that they are the ones you have downloaded. Check your privacy settings. If you think that you have been scammed, change your password. Notify the administrator of the site about the issue because a lot of these scams have come out over the weekend when they are usually off of work. Be aware that this is happening on other websites such as the powerhouse Twitter. So be careful while surfing in a cyberspace filled with these hackers.



Sep 2, 2010 10:45pm
I just thought that children have a lot to be cautious about when they out of the house. Now with your article, they have a lot more guidelines to follow when they are inside the house using the computer.
Sep 3, 2010 9:03am
thnaks for this useful info.
Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Technology