West Virginia Code in Article 7, Chapter 61 provides the law in possession and carrying of a concealed weapon for its residents. Any resident that meets the laws to carry a gun shall be licensed to carry a concealed weapon. The Sherriff's office in each county in West Virginia is responsible for the issuing and enforcement of conceal and carry permits. Each concealed and carry permit issued to a resident is valid for five (5) years.
Any resident of West Virginia wanting a conceal and carry permit must fill-out a standard application form and must sign the application in front of a notary. Then you must file the application with a copy of your driver's license along with an initial $75 fee as well as proof of the required firearms training or an existing conceal and carry license. When you receive the license you must pay an additional $15 fee bringing the total fee of a conceal and carry permit in West Virginia to $90.
Carrying a gun in West Virginia requires residents to have the following qualification:
You must be a resident of the state and live in the county in which you file an application. Also, you must be 21 years old or at least 18 and be employed in a job that requires you to carry a concealed gun. You must not be addicted to alcohol, drugs or any other item that may cause you problems. You cannot be a convicted felon or been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence with a deadly weapon. Also, you cannot carry a concealed weapon if you have ever been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
Additional qualifications for carry a concealed weapon in West Virginia include not being on probation or other form of judicial supervision. You cannot be under indictment for any felony charge or ruled mentally incompetent by a court. Also, you must be physically and mentally capable of carrying a concealed weapon.
The qualifications are strict, but do weed out potential violators that may carry a weapon and do something that is harmful to themselves or the public. Also, any resident wanting to obtain a conceal and carry permit must attend an approved training class. You can attend any official National Rifle Association handgun safety course or any other handgun training course approved by state.
Also, West Virginia has reciprocity with 21 states that allow West Virginia residents to carry a concealed weapon while in their state. The following states have reciprocity with West Virginia's conceal and carry permit: Utah, Arizona, Alaska, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oklahoma, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida and Delaware. Also, the following states honors West Virginia conceal and carry permit without any reciprocity: Montana, Idaho, Nevada, Nebraska, Kansas, Indiana and Vermont.