Forgot your password?

What Are the Penalties for A DUI in New Jersey?

By Edited Nov 13, 2013 0 0

These days, the probability of an inebriated person getting pulled over are fairly high, since most drivers understand the type of behavior to look out for. Additionally, the constant access to cellular phones makes it convenient to warn authorities of suspicious behavior. In 1988, the state of New Jersey saw 457 fatalities due to drunk driving. In 2008, this number dropped to 197, meaning that continued efforts to curtail drunk driving have succeeded, and that driving under the influence is taken very seriously. If you were pulled over for driving under the influence in New Jersey, what sort of consequences would you have?

The state offers an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in every district, and you'll have to attend a driving safety course. Every individual will be counseled to determine if extended help is required, and intoxicated drivers may be required to receive treatment in a drug or alcohol abuse plan for no less than 120 days. The visit to the IDRC is obligatory in all of the instances of inebriated driving, without regard to blood alcohol percentage when the police pulled them over - though many other potential outcomes are based around this consideration.

When it was a motorist's very first offense, and his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) measured between .08% and .10%, they might lose their driver's license for 3 months and pay a fee between $250-$400. Insurance costs will get bigger, perhaps nearly $1,000 higher per year than usual. Depending on the facts of your case, and if someone else or their house was harmed, consequences may include a month of jail time.

When it comes to first offenders measuring a BAC of .10% or higher, the license revocation term is lengthened to 7 months and can remain for one year. The fees raise to anywhere between three hundred and five hundred dollars, and possible incarceration can be 3 months.

The fees and penalties on a subsequent offense that occurs within ten years following the first will be more considerable. Your driver's license will be suspended for at least two full years, fees will probably run between five hundred to one thousand dollars and three months in jail may be included in the penalties. For anyone going through their 3rd offense, your driver's license can be revoked for a full decade. Again depending on the particular circumstances, insurance charges might be raised to $1,500, and jail time can be half a year with mandatory community service added on.

Each individual New Jersey DUI and DWI case is distinctive, as are the considerations that led to them. It's suggested to consult a Neptune NJ defense attorney for help with your situation.



Add a new comment - No HTML
You must be logged in and verified to post a comment. Please log in or sign up to comment.

Explore InfoBarrel

Auto Business & Money Entertainment Environment Health History Home & Garden InfoBarrel University Lifestyle Sports Technology Travel & Places
© Copyright 2008 - 2016 by Hinzie Media Inc. Terms of Service Privacy Policy XML Sitemap

Follow IB Lifestyle