If you haven’t read my most recent article on World of Warcraft, you might want to begin over there. Click here ---> World of Warcraft and InfoBarrel Members. That article beings by explaining what WoW is and what InfoBarrel is and why it’d be really cool to see members of each to join the other and have fun. Then I began going into depth about World of Warcraft and what makes the game an awesome game to me: it’s a deep game and never ends.

So let me continue with my discussion on why this game is so deep and awesome so that you can see why as well. I’ve already discussed races, professions, and leveling. Let me, in this article, talk about:

  • Classes
  • Mounts
  • Instances
  • Guilds
  • Battlegrounds
  • Equipment

So let’s begin!


I forgot to mention this in the last article, but here we are, and I’ll explain it now. When you first create your character: which race he’ll be, what he looks like, etc.; you’ll also have to decide which class you desire to be. So, if you chose to be a human, then you have to decide what type of human. Here’s the list of all of the classes that you can choose from. Note that not all races can be all classes. And I’ll shortly describe an important quality of that class along with this list. So choose wisely:

  • Druid

o   The ability to shape-shift into different animals

  • Hunter

o   You’re allowed to tame your own pets

  • Mage

o   This is a ranged magic damage dealer

  • Paladin

o   Hybrid class between priest and warrior

  • Priest

o   Healer class

  • Rogue

o   You can use stealth to disappear

  • Shaman

o   Versatile class that can resurrect themselves and others

  • Warlock

o   This guy deals evil magic and has a pet too

  • Warrior

o   Very tough close-combat character

  • Death Knight

o   Like a warrior with extra necromancer powers

Each of these classes has its own strengths and weaknesses. You have your own powers and abilities that make your character unique. So which class do you think you’d like to be?


As you level through the game, you are able to gain special abilities. One of those is the ability to gain a mount and ride him. Mounts come in all shapes and sizes; and these mounts can be gained at different levels and different areas. They are useful in allowing you to move faster through lands. Some mounts allow you to fly as well. These mounts include, but are not limited to:

  • Elekks
  • Rams
  • Horses
  • Mechanostriders
  • Sabers
  • Gryphons
  • Hawkstriders
  • Goblin Trike
  • Wolves
  • Kodos
  • Raptors
  • Skeletal Horses
  • Wyverns
  • Motorcycles
  • Flying Carpets
  • Rockets
  • Giant Elephants
  • Seahorse
  • Netherwing Drakes
  • Camels
  • Frostsabers
  • Mammoths
  • Polar Bears
  • Phoenix
  • Etc.

There are so many different types of mounts that it’s crazy. And you’re able to go through and collect a bunch of them. What a cool idea!


Instances are also known as dungeons. These are places where people can get a group of people together and enter the dungeon. All dungeons are different from one another, but contain basically the same things. You have a couple bosses that you have to conquer and a bunch of enemies to defeat. Your job as a group is to go throughout the whole instance and kill everything in it and collect the prizes. Once completed, your group is done and you can all disband if you want. But instances contain some awesome gear that you might need to make you character stronger.


“A guild is an in-game association of player characters. Guilds are formed to make grouping and raiding easier and more rewarding, as well as to form a social atmosphere in which to enjoy the game.” They are a place for people to join communities and participate in the game at a much deeper level. Imagine having a group of people to count on for coming and helping you. How about a group of people wanting to be able to raid together and get gear whenever they want. It’s a great place to belong. And anybody can create their own guild if they can get 10 signatures from other members in the game.


Here’s how WoWWiki explains a battleground: “Battlegrounds are instanced areas used for player versus player combat. Each classic battleground (Warsong Gulch, Arathi Basin and Alterac Valley) has two red instance entrance portals: one for the Alliance, and one for the Horde. Crossing these portals was originally one of the ways to enter the queue for their respective battlegrounds.”

The battleground is a place where you can play Capture the Flag (Warsong Gulch) and other “games” against the opposite faction. It’s quite fun, and you can earn honor points to help you buy things for your character. This will help you to gain higher strentgh, stamina, agility, etc. So go play in the battlegrounds and have some fun killing other players in the game. You now can also gain experience so that you level up simply by playing in the battlegrounds. So good luck!


Your equipment refers to any item that can be placed in your character slots. You have a ton of slots to put armor and gear inside. All of these items help to make you stronger, faster, and more sturdy in the face of battle. Some of these slots include:

  • Head slot
  • Shoulders
  • Neck
  • Back
  • Chest
  • Wrist
  • Hands
  • Waist
  • Feet
  • Legs
  • Fingers
  • Main Hand Weapon
  • Off-Hand Weapon

Armor, gear, and weapons can be placed in these slots to better you health, focus, speed, strength, agility, intellect, stamina, spirit, damage per second, attack power, and so much more. These are the slots that you want to fill as you level up so you can defeat bigger and badder foes to your advantage.


There’s not much else to say except that you should at least try the game out for free for 10 days. You’ll have the time of your life. And if you ever see me on there, come say hi. Good luck!